The Encouraging Thunder Award

Gabrielle at (Not) Another Lupus Blog nominated me for the Encouraging Thunder award, which recognizes blogs that are inspiring and encouraging to their readers. I am so grateful for the recognition that Undiagnosed Warrior has received and this truly is a great honor, especially from such a talented and amazing blogger. encouraging-thunder-award

If you have the chance, definitely take a peek at (Not) Another Lupus Blog. It is full of valuable information about managing Lupus and living life in general that is extremely witty, yet eloquent, in writing.

How the Encouraging Thunder Award works:

(In your post, you should talk about your purpose in blogging.)

My Purpose:

When I started Undiagnosed Warrior in March of 2015, I had just received acceptance to the major research hospital in Denver, Colorado and I thought blogging would be a great way to document my own personal journey while keeping both my friends and family updated as to the happenings – it’s tiring to repeat the same story over and over, so I thought to myself – why not?

I had lived with this undiagnosed illness since childhood and there were multiple times throughout my life that I had reached out to the medical community for help – to try and find answers as to what was wrong with me – although those answers never came. For the five years prior to acceptance with the research hospital, I had seen doctor after doctor, but only minimal testing was ordered (often the same standard tests) and it seemed as if no one believed me or my symptoms because all my test results continued to come back normal. At times, I’d leave the doctor’s offices in tears because of how they would treat me.

At my wits end and completely discouraged about my future, I decided to write the hospital a letter, begging for help. I knew this was going to be my last shot at ever finding out what was behind this illness that had wreaked havoc all throughout my life. My symptoms had suddenly increased unexpectedly not long before I reached out to them after they had been relatively consistent for a long time. At this time, I knew something was terribly wrong and I wasn’t sure what to expect or how much further my health would decline. It was now or never: I was going to prove that I was sick or I would die trying. There were no others options. In a beautifully morbid way, this blog is my legacy.

 download

I had never blogged before – still don’t know a thing about it, but I figured I’d learn along the way. I never expected anyone to actually read it, except for maybe the individuals that I was closest to. Hell, even some of the people I thought were very close to me didn’t show much interest in my illness. Nor did my doctors, apparently. It was a very unexpected surprise that other people not only followed along with my blog and my story, but they seemed to like it as well. What a humbling compliment – That I (a nobody in the scheme of this giant world) could either help or inspire an infinite number of people by doing such a simple and easy task. All I can say is WOW and thank you.

Most of all, without this blog and all the amazing people I have met because of this site, I don’t know if I’d have the  same amount of courage or willpower to continue this fight. Because of all of you (my readers) that I am as close as I’ve ever been to understanding and knowing the mystery plaguing me for as long as it has.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

And thank you again to (Not) Another Lupus Blog for nominating me for the Encouraging Thunder Award.

And now it’s time for to pay it forward.

Here are some bloggers who I personally idolize for sharing their story:

  1. CarrotsinMyCarryon: Blogging about life, love, work, and spirituality, all while sharing an honest account of her long-standing battle with food.
  2.   Indisposed and Undiagnosed: Another insightful blog about what it’s like to be a  medical mystery and the struggles of day to day life when you’re sick with a chronic invisible illness.
  3. Itsapotslife: Blog that features incredible resources for tips on the ins and outs of having a diagnosis postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome.
  4. the myasthenia kid: Another great blogger who also knows what it is like to wait a long time for a diagnosis but finally discovered that she has POTS, EDS, and severe autonomic dysfunction (perhaps other things). Very encouraging and helpful blogger.
  5. Simply danLrene: Yet another inspiring blogger who has been affected by chronic illness, but always both so encouraging and enlightening in her posts about life and her hopes for the future.

Of course, I follow a number of special and encouraging blogs and I always find it hard to select just a few for awards. Please don’t take it personal, there’s always next time.

If I nominated you and if you choose to accept the award, here are the rules:

When you get this award, you can:

  • Post it and the logo on your blog
  • Pay it forward by nominating others

You cannot:

  • Abuse or misuse the logo
  • Claim the logo is your own

If you receive the award you should:

  • Give thanks via comments and likes in the blog of the person nominating you
  • Mention the person who nominated you in your award blog
  • Discuss your purpose in blogging in your award blog
One thought on “The Encouraging Thunder Award

Where is the Love? Leave a comment.

