A Review of my Medical Journey From the Last Year

a80f6db56b7e8ed1851c7a725e8b2daa

Since restarting my search for a diagnosis in February of last year when I started at the research hospital, I’ve been through a lot of doctors and a lot of medical testing.

Well, it got me thinking –  Just how many tests have I done?

 Being as OCD as I am, I decided to look through my list of notes and test results so that I could write it all down (in list form of course). Eventually, I’m hoping to upload some of my test results – along with an UPDATED diagnoses list – for comparison.


Doctors I’ve Visited

184sdmi16d4djjpg

Primary Care Doctors:

  1. PCP-A
    • Scarred and butchered my scalp biopsy (with no anesthetic, by the way), forgot to order tests, couldn’t fill out paperwork, the office staff was horrible, the list goes on and on…
  2. PCP-B
    • Told me she’d review my record and call me with a plan- never called after multiple attempts over 2 months. I went as far as to file a complaint with the office manager, who promised me at least a call, which never happened.
  3. PCP-C
    • Told me I was simply dehydrated and depressed, despite having initial diagnoses at the time.
  4. PCP-D
    • FINALLY – a good PCP and my current doctor.

56019279

Medical Specialties:

  1. Vascular Surgeon #1
  2. Vascular Surgeon #2
  3. Vascular Surgeon #3
  4. Neurology #1
  5. Neurology #2
  6. Dermatology #1
  7. Dermatology #2
  8. Cardiologist
  9. Electro-cardiologist
  10. Immunologist
  11. Rheumatologist
  12. ENT/Allergy
  13. Gastroenterologist
  14. GI surgeon
  15. Urologist
  16. Gynecologist #1
  17. OGynecologists #2
  18. Physical Therapist
  19. Optometrist
  20. Psychologist
  21. Neuropsychologist
  22. Chiropractor
  23. LCSW
  24. Nutritionist

Procedures (Under Sedation)

featimg10_15

  • April 2015 – Esophageal Dilation and Internal Biopsies
  • May 2015 – Endometrial Ablation
  • December 2015 – Venography

Medical Testing and Imaging

medical-imaging.jpg

2015:

March

  • CT Abdomen & Pelvis
  • Pulmonary Function Tests – Pre & Post
  • Spirometry
  • Allergy Test – Skin Scraping

April 

  • Abdominal X-Ray
  • Tailored Barium Swallow
  • Colonoscopy & Endoscopy
  • X-Rays of both Ankles

May

  • Abdominal Ultrasound RUQ
  • Gastric Emptying Study

June

  • CT Angiogram Abdomen & Pelvis
  • Electroencephalogram (EEG)
  • Spirometry
  • Fecal Cultures

July

  • Electrocardiogram (ECG)
  • Echocardiogram with Agitated Saline

August

  • Skin Biopsy
  • Cardiac MRI
  • Exercise Stress Test
  • Holter Monitor
  • Spirometry

September

  • X-Ray of Spine

October

  • Sitz Marker Study
  • Upper GI Series
  • Small Bowel Follow Through
  • Hydrogen-Methane Breath Test
  • Spirometry
  • Abdominal X-Ray Supine

November

  • Hepatobiliary (HIDA) Scan
  • Electrocardiogram (ECG)
  • Holter Monitor
  • Echocardiogram

December

  • Venography

2016:

January

  • Renal Ultrasound

February

  • Anorectal Manometry
  • MRI Abdomen

March

  • Tilt-Table Test
  • Electrocardiogram (ECG)

April

  • MRI Pelvis
  • MRI Head/Brain

May 

  • Transvaginal Ultrasound
  • Renal Ultrasound
  • Electroencephalogram (EEG)

June

  • Transvaginal Ultrasound
  • CT Maxillofacial

Blood and Urine Screening

10133057-Medical-science-equipment-Research-laboratory-science-testing-Stock-Photo

  • Urinalysis and Urine Cultures
  • Routine Blood Screens:
    • Comprehensive Metabolic Panel (CMP)w/ and w/o eGFFR
    • Complete Blood Count (CBC) w/ and w/o Differentials
    • Electrolyte Panel
    • Liver Panel
    • Kidney Function Tests
    • Celiac Disease Panel
    • Thyroid Screens
      • TSH
      • TSH 3rd generation
      • T4
    • Electrolyte Panel
    • Lipid Profile
    • Cholesterol Levels
    • Serum Vitamin Assays
      • Vitamin D
        • Total
        • D3
        • D 25-Hydroxy
      • Vitamin B12
      • Folate/Folic Acid
      • Calcium
    • C-Reactive Protein
    • Antinuclear Antibody Panel (ANA)
    • Serum Iron Testing
      • Iron and Iron Binding Capacity
    • Rheumatoid Factor
    • Creatinine with eGFR
    • Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate (ESR)
    • Amylase
    • L-Creatinine
  • More Specialized Blood Screening:
    • Antibody Screening
      • IGA
      • IGE
      • IGM
      • IGG
      • CK
      • CS
      • Tissue Transglutam AB IGA
      • IGE-RAB, Chronic Uticaria
      • IGE Receptor Ab
      • DNA AB (DS)
      • anti-RO/SSA, and Anti-LaSSB
      • CCP Antibodies
      • Beta-2 glycoprotein IgGG and IgM
      • Cardiolipin
    • Sjorgen’s SSA
    • B. burgdorferi Screen Rflx
      •  B. burgdorferi Ab, IgG,IgM
      • B. burgdorferi Ab, IgG (WB)
      • B. burgdorferi Ab, IGM (WB)
    • Growth Hormone Somatotropin Test
    • Cortisol (AM)
    • Blood Clotting Tests
      • Prothrombin Time (PT)
      • International Normalised Ratio (INR)
      • Dilute Russell’s Viper Venom Time (dRVVT)
    • L-Protein Electrophoresis
    • Nutritional Panel w/ Prealbumin
    • Blood Typing
16 thoughts on “A Review of my Medical Journey From the Last Year

      • timewithlyme says:

        That’s good.. the two I see are much more manageable than an LLMD which can cost about that much. It really is ridiculous! I’ll have to post one of the three letters I am composing to the three different MD’s that I went to see and all said I didn’t have Lyme.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Undiagnosed Warrior says:

        Yes please post. I’d love to read. When I first started looking for a diagnosis, I called a couple llmd’s – they were nuts. I can’t remember what they quoted me but I remember thinking it was easier to live in pain that afford even a single consult.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Elizabeth B. says:

    Now I’m tired just reading that…
    And curious about how many I’ve had. Though I don’t think I’ve done as good a job about notes and such so I don’t think I can even compile a list like this.

    Liked by 1 person

Where is the Love? Leave a comment.

